Doom Eternal Update 6.66 Out Now with Release Notes

Horde Mode and Battlemode 2.0 has finally arrived!

iD software has recently released Doom Eternal update 6.66 and has officially added Horde Mode.

Doom Eternal update 6.66 is finally here for all platforms and it has added the most awaited feature, Horde Mode. It has also added two new Master Levels and new improvements for Battlemode upgrading it to version 2.0. Update 6.66 is still coming to Nintendo Switch at a later time though.

What to Expect in Horde Mode

Horde Mode will pit the Doom Slayer with waves of demons across three missions from the main game and The Ancient Gods Parts 1 and 2. Just like the classic arcade game, players will have to go through it all without any checkpoints and will start with just three extra lives. They can earn more as they progress through the challenges. Begin with only a fully mastered Combat Shotgun and unlock new weapons at random as they complete each Arena Round. Earn Milestones and unlock new customization items.

doom eternal update 6.66

The Horde Mode Missions include the following:

  • Arena Round – Waves of demons coming at Doom Slayer
  • Blitz Round – Kill as many demons as the player can before the time limit runs out
  • Bonus Coin Round – This is optional and makes players collect as many coins as possible with a time limit
  • Traversal Round – Go through a traversal puzzle and collect as many coins as possible before time limit
  • Bonus Blitz Round – Another optional round and the same as Blitz round but with Super Heavy demons and Onslaught power ups.

How Scores are Tallied

Players get their scores tallied by the end of each round. Get additional points for remaining extra lives and BFG ammo. Every demon that they kill that is not a Zombie, Spirit, or summoned by an Archvile gives points, bigger demons have more points, bounty demons are worth more than the usual ones but the value decreases over time, completing mission challenges earns points, and picking up coins in Traversal and Bonus Coin Rounds reward points.

Here are what players begin with in Horde Mode:

  • 3 Extra Lives
  • A fully mastered Combat Shotgun
  • The Chainsaw, all Equipment and Dash
  • All Perks, Runes and Sentinel Crystal Upgrades
  • Another fully mastered gun is awarded at random on completion of each Arena Round
  • Special weapons are given at the start of certain Arena Rounds*
  • Completing Milestones unlocks new customization items
  • Additional Extra Lives are awarded by completing Blitz Rounds, Bonus Coin Rounds, Bonus Blitz Rounds, Combat Arena Rounds 1 and 2 in The Holt and by killing the required number of demons in Blitz and Bonus Blitz Rounds. They can also be acquired in level during any Traversal Round
  • *The Sentinel Hammer in The Holt Horde Mode Level requires 4 charges (2 more than in The Ancient Gods – Part Two)

Rewards to Gain

Here are the rewards players can get in Horde Mode. Check them out:

Master Levels

There are two new Master Levels to enjoy, which are Mars Core and The World Spear. Completing the campaigns first in order to unlock them. Players can unlock the Master Levels from the Fortress of DOOM or just the Mission Select Menu.

Battlemode 2.0

Battlemode has now been upgraded to version 2.0. Skills will now matter more in Battlemode. The more players win, the better challengers await them. Complete the Series Challenges to increase Rank, unlock new rewards, and attain a higher position at the Leaderboards.

Here are the rewards players can get in Battlemode 2.0:

New Playable Demon Dread Knight

Update 6.66 adds a new playable demon called the Dread Knight. There is also a new Battlemode arena called Stronghold.

The Dread Knight has cool abilities, which are primary attack Energy Wave, Berserk, Ground Slam, and Quantum Orb. It has also some mid-round upgrades like Ferocity and Enshroud.

Enjoy Doom Eternal version 6.66 and Horde Mode!

Doom Eternal is now available on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and Nintendo Switch.

Former News Editor