Stray Souls Feature Famous Silent Hill Composer

Japanese survival horror game with new tricks included.

Jukai Studio and Versus Evil have recently announced the upcoming mystery-driven psychological horror game Stray Souls and it will feature music by a legendary Silent Hill composer.

Stray Souls Feature Akira Yamaoka’s Work

According to the developers, Stray Souls will feature music by famous Silent Hill composer Akira Yamaoka. He is known for his work scoring the first several Silent Hill games. His work has also appeared in other acclaimed titles like Shadows of the Damned, Lollipop Chainsaw, and The Medium. The new trailer features one of his new pieces, “Splintered Mind.”

“It’s no secret that we’re massive fans of Silent Hill, so being able to get its series composer, Akira Yamaoka, on board for our game is a dream come true!,” said Artur Łączkowski, Owner & Director at Jukai Studio. “Yamaoka’s work was so integral in creating the tone and mood of Silent Hill, so we’re beyond excited to have him enhance our vision with his legendary soundscapes. There’s really no one quite like him and we are so honored to have him as a creative collaborator!”

About Stray Souls

Dive into the mind of Daniel, a teenage boy who inherits a home from his estranged grandmother. As he moves in, Daniel meets the enigmatic Martha who knows more about the house than he would expect. As night falls, dark secrets hiding within the dwelling and Daniel’s past come out of the woodworks – secrets Daniel cannot seem to outrun…

Stray Souls combines beloved elements of Japanese survival horror games with an array of new tricks, including a variety of randomized systems where enemy encounters, item placement, paranormal activity and even weather patterns are always changing so no two playthroughs are exactly the same. Using the power of Metahuman technology and Unreal Engine 5, characters and environments are authentically brought to life, throwing you straight into the dread and dismay of the narrative.

Stray Souls launches this fall 2023 on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

Sources: Press Release