The Outlast Trials Program X: How to Unlock & What to Expect

This guide shares the steps in order to unlock the challenging Program X, a series of trials that can lead to freedom in The Outlast Trials.

The Outlast Trials Program X cover

Program X is the penultimate trial in The Outlast Trials. It is a set of trials where players can earn their Reborn Tokens, which are needed for their shot at being released from the Murkoff Facility. These trials’ difficulties are dialed up to eleven, as they are the culmination of challenges from the previous programs that will really test the players’ skills in completing the tasks and making their escape. Program X trials also serve as the endgame loop, as it is planned to be updated seasonally as new maps get added in future updates.

Read ahead as we go through the steps on how to unlock Program X and talk about what its significance is to the overall gameplay of The Outlast Trials.

How to unlock Program X in The Outlast Trials

How to unlock Program X in The Outlast Trials

The Outlast Trials Program X can be unlocked after completing all of the available programs and their respective trials and challenges. This means you will have to complete all five missions in each of the three programs: the base trial, the two MK-Challenges, the harder difficulty trial (3 variators), and the final exam (6 variators) for that program.

Once all 15 missions have been cleared at least once, Program X will then be available in the program selection screen.

What to expect in Program X?

Program X is composed of ten trials, picked from the previous trials and challenges of the three programs. Completing these trials under this program will reward you with Reborn Tokens plus random cosmetics for your character or your cell.

Once you collect 10 Reborn Tokens, you will then be able to go through the Reagent Release Protocol, where you will have to go through one final trial called Farewell, which is located in the Mansion. Successfully completing this trial will earn you your “freedom” and let you finally see the ending scene for the game.

What to expect in Program X of The Outlast Trials

This freedom is more of a sham as it is only temporary. You will be transported back into the facility, where you can go through the trials again. Consider this the game’s prestige mechanic, where your progress on the three programs will be maintained, but your progress through the Program X trials will be reset. You can then continue playing this endgame loop of collecting 10 tokens and then going through rebirth over and over again.

As you go through this loop, your therapy level will also increase, allowing you to access other upgrades such as prescriptions and amps that can make future runs easier. On top of that, you will also have the chance to collect more cosmetic items, with the aim of getting the legendary ones added to your collection. Plus, Program X is planned to have seasonal content that will be added in future updates to add some variation to the gameplay.