Destiny 2: Beyond Light Expansion Coming on September

Destiny 2

Game studio Bungie just announced the next chapter in the Destiny 2 universe, which is the new expansion Beyond Light.

The next expansion Beyond Light will be arriving on Sept. 22. Aside from that the studio revealed its next season called Season of Arrivals, which is now available.

Both Season of Arrivals and Beyond Light expansion will both continue the narrative of the Guardians in their ongoing battle to save humanity. Mysteries will be revealed, new powers discovered, and the Pyramid ships will finally be unveiled. It will all start with Season of Arrivals.

For months, the mysterious Pyramid ships have been making their way to our solar system, their purpose unknown but their menace clear. In Season of Arrivals, the moon of Io will see the arrival of the first Pyramid ship, setting off a chain of events that will unfold throughout the Season, into the Beyond Light expansion, and beyond.

Aside from the new expansion and content, Bungie revealed that the game will be coming to PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X when it launches. The purchases on Destiny 2: Beyond Light on Xbox One will transfer to the Xbox Series X for free via Smart Delivery. The PlayStation 4 version will be upgraded to PlayStation 5 version for free. More details will be revealed later on.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light
A new power is born out of the ancient Pyramid ship above Europa, and a dark empire has risen beneath. In the Destiny 2: Beyond Light expansion, Guardians will explore a changed universe, with a new destination, new adventures, and even new powers to explore.

Explore Europa: In Beyond Light, Guardians will be called to a new destination: Jupiter’s frozen moon of Europa. Brave the unrelenting glacial frontier, infiltrate the Golden Age Braytech facility, and uncover the secrets that lie deep under the ancient ice.

Wield the Darkness: As a new threat emerges, so too does a mysterious new power – Stasis. Rooted in Darkness, Guardians will wield this new elemental power alongside Arc, Solar, and Void to summon epic supers and control the battlefield. Titans, Warlocks and Hunters will each use Stasis in a different way. More details on Stasis to come later this summer.

A New Raid: Below the frozen tundra of Europa lies the Deep Stone Crypt. For decades it has remained dormant. Guardians will test their skill and teamwork in this brand new six-person raid, where glorious rewards await.

The Rise of Eramis: The splintered houses of the Fallen have rallied and built their new empire on Europa, united under the banner of the Fallen Kell of Darkness, Eramis. Abandoned by the Traveler and left by the Light, Eramis is on her own journey into the Darkness, and towards a collision course with Guardians.

Players can pre-order Destiny 2: Beyond Light now to get instant access to a special Exotic Ghost Shell and Legendary Emblem! Digital Deluxe owners also receive instant access to the new Exotic Freeze Tag emote. Pre-orders for Destiny 2: Beyond Light are available now on Steam, Stadia, Xbox One, and will be available soon on the PlayStation Store.

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition

The Destiny 2: Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition will be available to pre-order on all platforms: 

  • Destiny 2: Beyond Light Expansion + Full Year of Seasonal Content (4 Seasons Total) 
  • With pre-order: Exotic Rimed Ghost Shell and Legendary Emblem 
  • Freeze Tag Exotic Emote 
  • No Time to Explain Exotic Pulse Rifle with Exotic Catalyst and Ornament 
  • Any Other Sky Exotic Sparrow 

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Collector’s Edition

The Destiny 2: Beyond Light Collector’s Edition will only be available from the Bungie Store:

  • Beyond Light Digital Deluxe Edition (digital code only) 
  • Die-Cast Splinter of Darkness Replica with lights 
  • Europa Explorer’s Bag 
  • Europa Exploration Canteen 
  • Mysterious Logbook 
  • Plus other discoveries from Europa 

Destiny 2: Beyond Light The Stranger Edition
The Stranger Edition is the only way for fans to access an exclusive 10” statue of The Stranger, sold with purchase of the Deluxe Edition at select retailers worldwide.

Season of Arrivals
A dark omen enters the system and a signal howls through the emptiness of space. In the shadow of the mysterious Pyramid ship, Guardians must search for answers. The ongoing narrative in Destiny’s evolving universe continues with the launch of the eleventh Season: Season of Arrivals.

Starting today, players can embark on new activities to enjoy, discover new gear to pursue, and experience a new chapter in the Destiny 2 universe.

New Dungeon: Later on today, Guardians will be challenged with a new dungeon, Prophecy, available to all Destiny 2 players. Face the mystery and unlock the new DAITO Foundry armor and reprised Trials of the Nine armor sets.

Decipher the Darkness: Throughout the Season, Messages of Darkness will be found on Io. Journey to the Cradle on Io and uncover these hidden communications.

Contact Public Event: Join Guardians in public events beneath the newly arrived Pyramid ship on Io, where an untapped power has summoned the enemies of humanity.

New Rewards: By Focusing new engrams in Season of Arrivals, players can choose their rewards. The new engram Focusing system introduces the ability (once earned) for players to fine-tune their rewards.

New Gear:  Amazing new weapons await as players prepare to fend off the latest threat to humanity. Season Pass owners will instantly unlock the new Witherhoard Exotic Grenade Launcher and Seasonal armor set.

The Beyond Light expansion is now available for pre-order on the Xbox One, PC, and Google Stadia. The PS4 version will have its pre-order available soon.

Check out the reveal and gameplay trailer here:

Source: Press Release

Former News Editor