Shin Megami Tensei V – All Stats and Attributes Guide

Every stat and attribute in Shin Megami Tensei V, what they do, and how they work.

Shin Megami Tensei V features a multitude of stats and attributes which affect your proficiency in demon skills. Here’s all you need to know about each stat and attribute for the game, what they do, and how they work.

Shin Megami Tensei V All Stats

There are five types of stats in Shin Megami Tensei V. These will affect how greatly you do during combat. Be sure to build your party wisely by understanding what they do and what they affect.


Your strength stat ties into your regular physical attacks as well as your physical skills. The higher the stat, the more Phys damage dealt.

Strength Affects:

  • Normal Phys attacks.
  • Phys Skill attacks.


Any elemental magic you cast depends heavily on your magic stat. The higher your magic stat, the more Fire, Ice, Elec, Void, and Almighty damage you’ll do. Light and Darkness are dependent on luck.

Magic Affects:

  • Fire
  • Ice
  • Void
  • Elect
  • Almighty


Vitality stat increases your maximum health and damage by physical skills that are tied closely to how large your health is.

Vitality Affects:

  • Maximum Health.
  • Phys Skill attacks.


The higher your Agility stat, the better your odds at dodging and escaping battles. These also affect your ability to hit your enemy.

Agility Affects:

  • Escape from battles.
  • Dodging attacks.
  • Attack accuracy.


The higher your luck, the better chances to score a critical hit which will knock down opponents. The Luck stat will also affect the items you get after battle, ailments you inflict, and Dark and Light magic respectively.

Luck Affects:

  • Critical hit rate.
  • Dark and Light Instant Kill.
  • Items received after battle.

Shin Megami Tensei V All Attributes

There are two types of attributes in Shin Megami Tensei V. They can be classified as offensive attributes and defensive attributes.

  • Offensive Attributes – refers to attributes that are offensive in nature or offer offensive enhancing abilities.
  • Defensive Attributes – refers to attributes that enhance defense and increase the likelihood of survival.

Offensive Attributes

There are 11 types of offensive attributes.

Phys (Physical)

Shin Megami Difficulty

Physical attacks can either be your normal attacks which cost no MP or special attacks which do. Unlike the previous Shin Megami Tensei titles, they no longer cost health. Physical attributes can come with other ailments such as pierce or a chance to poison.

  • Regular Phys Attacks – cost no MP to use.
  • Special Phys Attacks – cost MP to use and may come with additional ailments.


This is a type of property damage that refers to burning your foes. Fire attribute is considered part of magic attacks and can be strong and weak against certain foes and may inflict Burn to continuously damage your enemies.

  • May inflict Burn status effect.


Ice attributes refer to the frost damage you deal to enemies. This is also considered a part of magic attacks which will be strong against demons weak to ice. This may inflict Freeze status which may prevent an enemy from taking turns.

  • May inflict Freeze status effect.

Elec (Electricity)

Elec attribute is considered a part of your magic elemental damage. It may inflict paralysis on your foes which will prevent them from taking turns.

  • May inflict Paralysis status effect.


Force is considered part of your magic elemental damage. This is Wind damage and will be effective against demons weak to it.


Light attribute deals light property damage towards demons. Has a chance of instantly killing demons, especially those who are weak to Light. Instant Death will not work on bosses and stronger foes.

  • Can deal instant death to foes weak towards Light.


Dark attribute deals dark property damage towards your foes. Has a chance of instantly killing enemies, especially ones who are weak towards Dark. Instant Death via dark won’t work against bosses and stronger foes.

  • Can deal instant death to foes weak towards Dark.


Almighty is considered the neutral attribute as it neither deals effective or ineffective damage towards your foes. It’s good for dealing with foes who are strong against a variety of attributes.


These inflict special status effects towards foes. There are four ailment types that aren’t elemental.

  • Charm – places one of your foes to your side. Taking damage will cancel Charm status.
  • Mute – prevents enemies from casting magic.
  • Panic – prevents enemies from taking action.
  • Poison – enemies gradually take damage each turn.
  • Sleep – puts enemies to sleep preventing a turn, but heals them gradually until woken up. Taking damage will cancel Sleep status.
  • Illusion – enemies will lose accuracy.


This attribute refers to skills that enhance your attack, defense, and other stats.


Passive attributes refer to skills that are always active, such as Miracles which are purchased from the World of Shadows.

Combat Shin Megami Tensei

Defensive Attributes

There are 5 types of defensive attributes.


Refers to what you’re resistant to, such as being strong against a certain element. If you’re strong against Fire, for example, it won’t do as much damage to you and you likely won’t suffer effects.


Refers to what is effective against you. If an enemy is weak against a certain element, using that against them will deal more damage, knock them down, and give you an extra turn.


Refers to damage that are completely nullified, you won’t take damage or receive any status effects.


Refers to damage being reflected against enemies. If an enemy has an element it repels, using that same element against it will have it going back to deal damage to you.


Refers to elements that heal enemies. Instead of dealing damage, you’ll heal any enemy that has a Drain attribute for a specific element.

Thanks for reading our guides on Attributes! We hope that it was helpful to you. We have other guides that you may find useful.