Pokémon Scarlet and Violet: Poison Type Pokémon Guide

Learning What Poison-Types can do


The Poison Type is among the 18 different Pokémon types and one of the 1st generation types to be introduced in the Pokémon series. Read on for a more in-depth look on what a Fairy Type Pokémon is, including its strengths, weaknesses, and more.

What is a Poison Type Pokémon?

The Poison Type Pokémon, as stated, is one of the oldest generation types found in the series. There are some non-Poison Types that can learn certain moves such as Toxic and more. In Offensive skills, Poison-types are strong against Grass and Fairy-types and are weak against Ground and Psychic-Type Pokémon. In Pokémon Contests, moves using this type become Clever or Tough but none of them are considered Cute.

Check out our comprehensive guide on every Poison Type Weaknesses and Resistances in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet

Examples of Poison Type Pokémon

Examples Of Poison-Type Pokemons - Pokemon Scarlet And Violet

Currently, there are a total of 83 Poison-type Pokémon, making them the 7th rarest species after Ground, Fighting, and Rock Types. There are many Poison-types that trainers can face off and catch such as the following:

  • Bulbasaur
  • Groagunk
  • Gulpin
  • Koffing
  • Niroran
  • Seviper
  • Stunky
  • Zubat

In Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, there are a total of 9 new Poison-type Pokémon that players can meet and catch, which are as follows:

  • Clodsire
  • Glimmet
  • Glimmora
  • Grafaia
  • Iron Moth
  • Paldean Wooper
  • Revavroom
  • Shroodle
  • Varoom

That’s our guide on what Poison Types are in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet. For more Pokémon Scarlet And Violet content, feel free to visit our previous articles below:

Type Weaknesses and Resistances:

Pokémon League:

How to Evolve:

Legendary Pokemon:

Also, watch MandJTV’s video on what Poison Type Pokémons are and what they can do: